“Do you work for google?”

October 9, 2008

I’m at SMX in New York this week. And it’s been a really great few days. Once I got my head past the relentlessness of the days… back to back search sessions followed by search chit chat, search lunches and my growing collection of search-related freebies from the sales stands.

I spent a lot of time chatting to a very helpful Analytics expert on the Google stand; going back every break to ask more questions I’d forumlated to solve various mini-hurdles my clients have. He was fab, and gave me work arounds, pointed out extra functionality I’d never spotted and explained other things I might like to try. All in all, he made my trip completely worthwhile.

So much so infact that as I left the stand and pootled off to yet another session, a delegate caught me up to ask “Do you work for Google?”

Tempting though it was to say that I was a Harvard graduate who’d battled through 20 rounds of interviews to work at arguably the most influential company in the world… I’m afraid I had to admit, that “No”.

I’d just been hanging around on the stand for the silly putty and to ask some client-questions.

Well, for a moment at least, I’d reached my nirvana.

One Response to ““Do you work for google?””

  1. Jenny Says:

    Ah, so that’s why you’re out there! I was wondering… Didn’t know what SMX was so I googled it (somewhat ironic?) – I had no idea such things existed. But then I’m about to spend my second day at the Knitting and Stitching show and most people have never heard of that (mind you, its work not pleasure. So much yarn, mmmmm…)

    See you soon 🙂 Jx


Leave a Reply

